Online guide to the Russian tech market
Home News Ben Hopkins

4 regions secure $60 million technopark funding up to 2014

0 24 October 2013

The Communications’ Ministry has announced that more than $60 million of federal money will be given to four Russian regions to fund the development of their technoparks up to the end of 2014. 

Moscow is to receive $10 million, while Sverdlovsk Oblast, which has Yekaterinburg as its capital, will get $22 million. Penza Oblast, in the Volga region, will get a further $22 million, while its northern neighbour, Mordovia, will get $11 million. 

Mordovia's techopark has already received significant government support, with $40 million from the federal budget being sent their way from 2007 to 2012. Penza also previously obtained $13 million technopark funding.  

The decision to hold a competition for the future funding of Technoparks came after a recent Communciations' Ministry investigation found that only 3 out of the 11 regions that received technopark funding since 2007 had managed to achieve even 75% of their goals. 

In light of this, only the Samara and Novosibirsk regions (home to the Z-Valley and Akadempark technoparks) had their funding up until the end of 2014 guaranteed by the government, while the other 9 regions had to enter a competition to secure further funding. 

The goal is to create 11 hi-tech clusters spread across Russia by the end of 2014, covering a total area of 300,000 square metres. The government hopes that they will host 800 hi-tech companies, and provide work for 20,000 specialists, generating over $1 billion per year. 

8 of the 11 technoparks to be built within the program are now up and running: Kuzbass in Kemerovo Oblast, Akadempark in Novosibirsk, IT Park and Himgrad in Kazan, IT Park in Naberezhnye Chelny, Z-Valley in Samara and other centres in Tyumen and Mordovia. Penza’s technopark is expected to open before the end of the year. 


More on the topic

comments powered by Disqus


via social network

Linked in